Tour Through BlogLand

blog tour 4A

 

Hi ya’ll! I have been nominated by Sarah Hauer at On The Way Home to be part of the Tour Through BlogLand.  I am so excited that Sarah chose me to participate.  So a Big Southern Thank You Sarah.

Sarah’s blog is dedicated to the adventures of an American family redefining what home is. Sarah says, “Home is where we are all together… Home is where the Military sends us… Home is… where Jesus is alive in our hearts.”  Her blog covers one Catholic Mom’s inspirations, discoveries, perseverance and laughter.

Make sure you drop by and say Hello to Sarah and  read her BlogTour Post from last week!

sarah blogland

If you know anything about me at all, you know that I have a love for anything old.  Old Farmhouses, old furniture, old dishes, old quilts.  I find something so nostalgic about having pieces of the past in my home.  Maybe it is because I was raised in an “older” generation family or maybe I just love the memories and stories associated with the pieces I find.  No matter what the reason, the older and more distressed, (or as my friends say, falling apart), they are, the more I am in Love with them.

My husby and I am both have a dream of someday, hopefully sooner than later, of owning an old farmhouse and homestead.  My dream goes a little further though in the fact that after my children are grown, I would love to turn it into a Country B & B.  A place where people could come to rest and relax, with pastures and bright blue skies. Where you travel down an old dirt road and the only sounds you hear are the katydid’s.  Where you leave the noise and the chaos of the world behind and you enjoy a few days of slower pace and southern hospitality.

blogtour 1

 

I love to play hostess.  I enjoy having friends and family over for dinner or just nights of fun.  And I love to decorate.  I think every time someone comes over, something is different.  I change for seasons, and holidays and actually I change decor depending on my mood, which by the way sometimes drives my husby crazy :).

Questions 1: What are you working on now?

I am a lover of Autumn, or in my parts we call it Fall.  I love the warmth and the colors, and the smells.  But I also want the decor to fit my style. So right now I am working on finishing up my Autumn Decor and coming up with new DIY’s to incorporate into my love for “primitive” style.  I’m also working on new recipes to share my family for the upcoming holidays.  That is really important to me.  I don’t like to use the same thing every year and I enjoy using holiday spices to add a little something extra to a dish.   And I’m getting ready to can green beans, dilly beans and peas.

blog tour 3

 

blog tour 5

 

Question 2: How does my work differ from those of my genre?

I love simplicity.  I don’t like “flashy” and “over the top”. Some may see that as boring, but I see it as beautiful.   I also say that I believe I was born in the wrong era lol.  Of course I’m country, so my work also goes back to my roots whether its cooking, hosting or decorating.  When party planning, I love to incorporate old barns, pieces of wood, hay, natural surroundings, old quilts and burlap.  I find it warm and inviting.  When cooking, it’s all southern,  Your not going to find anything fancy, just old school with a new twist.

quilt

 

 

food

 

Question 3: Why do I write/create what I do?

I love being creative.  I am a very detailed oriented person.  Some may find that as a flaw, but to me its who I am.  I also enjoy working alone.  I see a vision, put a plan into action and go from there.  I enjoy spending time alone or just with my family.  I guess you could say I’m an introvert, but as us country folk call it, homebody.  I get overwhelmed with the fast pace of life.  I enjoy my life slower and taking time to stop and smell the roses.  I hope that within my writing and creating it will help people realize that life flashes by so fast.  They need to remember to enjoy life, not be in such a hurry to the next big thing.  Take the extra time to cook your dinner from scratch.  Don’t rush out and spend a fortune on a piece of furniture when a piece from days gone by will work just the same.

blog tour
Questions 4: How does your writing/creative process work?

Writing and creating allows me to express myself within my limits. I feel accomplished when I have created something beautiful out of something others would see as junk. I love to write based on my emotions. It helps me stay balanced.  Normally an idea will pop into my head and it takes several days to weeks for it to play out.  But any writing at all helps me to release built up frustrations and stress.

 

blog tour 2

 

 

I’ve nominated Leanne of NotFromTheStore  to be featured next on our Blog Land Tour.

You can find her post next Monday at http://ljenkinsnfts.wordpress.com/ and Leanne is pretty new to blogging so make sure you check out her Facebook Page.  It is amazing.

Thank you for letting me share a piece of my home and heart with you!

Leave a Reply

